Benelux Tour: Colbrelli successor Mathieu van der Poel, Mohoric takes last stage | Biking

photo: Cor VosBenelux Tour Won by Sonny Colbrelli
Benin’s Sonny Colbrelli In the last stage of the Benelux Tour, which went from Namur to Geraardsbergen, Victorious successfully defended his leader’s jersey, winning the race overall. Matej Mohoric of Slovenia, Colbrelli’s teammate, won the stage, with the Italian finishing second ahead of Tom Dumoulin.
Along with his triumphs in the Tour de Romandie, Critérium du Dauphiné, and Italian road title this season, Colbrelli’s stage win in the sixth stage had laid the foundation for his eventual overall victory. He takes over for Mathieu van der Poel, the winner of last year’s BinckBank Tour, a stage race.
Wout van Aert Wins the British Tour Stage
The first stage of the Tour of Britain was won by Wout van Aert of Jumbo-Visma, who rode across the steep terrain of Cornwall between Penzance and Bodmin. The Belgian won an uphill sprint, with Dutchman Nils Eekhoff (Team DSM) coming in second, and Spaniard Gonzalo Serrano third.
Van Aert’s first race since the Olympics was the Tour of Britain, and he is currently training for the World Cup in Great Britain in Leuven in a few weeks. The sprint’s draw was the French world champion Julian Alaphilippe, who placed ninth after overestimating his strength.
Eight days are allotted to the Tour of Britain. Mathieu van der Poel won the stage race two years ago, but coronavirus limitations forced its cancellation last year.

Related Articles

Back to top button